Small Wars Journal

Michael Yon


Michael Yon is a former Green Beret, native of Winter Haven, Fl. who has been reporting from Iraq and Afghanistan since December 2004.  No other reporter has spent as much time with combat troops in these two wars.  Michael’s dispatches from the frontlines have earned him the reputation as the premier independent combat journalist of his generation.  His work has been featured on “Good Morning America,” The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, CNN, ABC, FOX, as well as hundreds of other major media outlets all around the world.

Articles by this Author

Golden Seconds Mon, 10/24/2011 - 6:51pm
The Snapper Thu, 07/07/2011 - 7:14pm
Dispatch: Gobar Gas Tue, 06/08/2010 - 12:38pm
Court Decisions on Bagram Detainees Mon, 05/24/2010 - 4:36pm
Dispatch: An Afghan Story Sun, 05/09/2010 - 9:12am
Dispatch: Big Guns Thu, 04/29/2010 - 3:54pm
Dispatch: The Battle for Kandahar Sun, 04/25/2010 - 10:00am
Dispatch: Village Boys Sun, 04/04/2010 - 2:41pm
Dispatch: Red Horse Sun, 04/04/2010 - 12:31pm
Dispatch: Battle for Kandahar (Part I) Sun, 03/28/2010 - 11:12am
Dispatch: Scent of Weakness Thu, 03/25/2010 - 9:34pm
Warthog Wed, 03/24/2010 - 5:10am
Man Dogs Tue, 03/16/2010 - 5:22pm
The Bridge Thu, 03/11/2010 - 10:16am
Of Concern Mon, 03/08/2010 - 3:59am
Whispers Mon, 02/22/2010 - 10:20am
Adam Ray Thu, 02/18/2010 - 1:50pm
Patterns Mon, 02/15/2010 - 10:41pm