Small Wars Journal

Keith Nightingale


COL Nightingale is a retired Army Colonel who served two tours in Vietnam with Airborne and Ranger (American and Vietnamese) units. He commanded airborne battalions in both the 509th Parachute Infantry Regiment and the 82nd Airborne Division. He later commanded both the 1/75th Rangers and the 1st Ranger Training Brigade.

Articles by this Author

The Other Side of the Wall Wed, 09/27/2017 - 7:47pm
Senses, Shadows and the Soul Thu, 08/31/2017 - 10:47am
The Patrol Sat, 07/22/2017 - 8:13am
When I Close My Eyes I See… Sun, 07/16/2017 - 9:02am
Normandy: An Observation Sat, 07/01/2017 - 11:12am
The Good Vibrations of D-Day Wed, 05/24/2017 - 1:11pm
What Makes Grunts Smile Fri, 05/12/2017 - 1:02pm
Nameless, Ageless, But Forever Wed, 05/10/2017 - 7:09pm
Combat, Orders and Judgment Sat, 05/06/2017 - 9:16am
A Strategic Guide to Afghanistan Options Sun, 04/09/2017 - 7:52am
Leading, Not Sending Thu, 04/06/2017 - 7:42am
Colors in Concrete Tue, 04/04/2017 - 3:21pm
The Thousand Yard Stare Thu, 03/23/2017 - 8:57pm